enthusiasm

The challenge of Day 22, by Mars Dorian: [How can you bring MORE enthusiasm into your work? What do you have to think or believe about your work to be totally excited about it?] Trust thyself: every heart vibrates to that iron string. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

THE TOUCH OF FLOW?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Inspiration = Passion = Fascination = Ardour = Zest = Fire within = Flow

I am not sure where I want to go with this. Because enthusiasm is not where my heart vibrates. Originally, an enthusiast was seen as a person possessed by a god. In contemporary usage, enthusiasm has lost its meaning to someone who is over excited. Flow, however is a state of operation in which a person in an activity is fully immersed in a feeling of energized focus and full involvement.

Thus I would rather be in the flow than enthusiastic. I’d rather be inspired and inspirational than over excited. Within enthusiasm lies an anticipation of results that I think can flip you upside down if not careful. When I am inspired, I am immersed in the moment, within the action and fully participating with no focus on the final result. I can be enthusiastic, but it passes. When I’m inspired I am in the zone, almost forgetting food, sleep and time. Sure I can’t be in that ‘place’ all the time, but inspiration puts fascination on the table. I can be so fascinated by what I focus on and feel in the moment and fascination awakens motivation. It’s a zest for life that it’s almost palpable. It’s sensuous, almost sexual in its core. It’s Bernini’s sculpture “Theresa’s ecstasy”.

My inspiration has a very physical sensation to it. It’s like making love with that out of the ordinary intensity, which transports you deep within to your very centre and out towards the weightlessness of universe at the same time. It can be above the waist, it can be below the waist, it can be soft, it can be rough. Either way, it fills you with force. I haven’t felt inspired for a long time – 10 years probably. I used to be a very creative person. Let’s just say I perceive creativity as a life force and to lose connection to that essence has been devastating. Today I listen to a song (quite new) and it hit me that the lyrics described the nature of my inspiration. I will take you through parts of the lyrics and give example of my in the zone moments I have experienced.

[…] Your touch magnetizing, Feels like I am floating, Leaves my body glowing [..]

“It’s 1984 and it is my turn to enter the stage. My heart’s pounding and my hands are shaking. I am listening to the presenter announcing my name. I made it to the finals. I am dancing before 800 people. The crowd is roaring and I enter the stage. I give the performance of my dancing life. I fuse with a force, so strong that I have no awareness of myself. I am One with the music that has inspired me since childhood and my body take me to new heights. I win.”

It was an in-the-Zone-moment and I loved it and felt alive.

[…] A different dimension, You open my eyes, And I’m ready to go, Lead me into the light [..]

“It’s 1999 and it’s 4.30 am in the morning. I stand on a cliff waiting for the sunrise. I discuss with the cameraman about the camera angles he’s going to shoot. It’s raining and it’s a bit cold. The actors are being dressed in the trailer. My daughters are still sleeping in my car under supervision. I feel blessed that I, as a single mum, can do what I do. One of the assistants gives me a cup of coffee and the rain increases and I start to laugh. I realise that I live my dream. I love standing in pouring rain, with cold coffee in my hand waiting to start filming. I have worked very hard to make it happen against all odds.”

It was an in-the-Zone-moment and I loved it and felt alive.

[…]Kiss me, kiss me, Infect me with your love and Fill me with your poison[…]

“It’s 2000 and I look in my daughter’s green eyes. They are filled with excited anticipation and love. She is 6 years old and is in every way amazing. “Will you, Mum?” she says again. She wants me to tell a bedtime story that I make up while I am telling it. She puts away the book by Grimm Brothers and cuddle up inside my arms. Then we put out the lamp and I take her far and away to a magical land of possibilities where children can fly and meet fantastic creatures and conquer monsters. Right before she falls asleep she says: “Mum, I love you. Please remember to continue the story tomorrow!”

It was an in-the-Zone-moment and I loved it and felt alive.

[…]I wanna walk on your wave length, And be there when you vibrate, For you I’ll risk it all[…]

“It’s 2011 and it’s 6.55 am and I am not sure how I will address today’s prompt. I had a bad day yesterday, questioning the use of it all; what the hell I am doing and my worth. But I start to write about enthusiasm, trying to give a ‘clever’ answer, trying to be toned down like a dimmer. Then – HELL NO! I stop. I go for a walk by the sea instead thinking of what I should write. I have no clue but I feel a fire that I want to express. I don’t feel enthusiastic, but vibrant.

I come home. I start over. And this is what I came up with, this is what vibrates in my heart. This is what I long for, this is ME. When touched by the flow I risk it all – no fear, no lack, no cleverness. Only flow.

That’s the iron string my heart vibrates to. That is what I long for. That is how I make love to inspiration.

(The song is “E.T” by Katy Perry. The genre might not suit you but it’s the lyrics that’s important. Notice how she looks like “Theresa’s Ecstasy” in the slide show above.)

Comments on: "enthusiasm" (10)

  1. ChrisBellNZ said:

    You put a lot of effort into this one, Michi. It paid off.

    My whole life feels as though it has been a quest for in-the-zone moments. I’m 50. I can remember maybe half-a-dozen – 10 if I’m feeling generous.

    Please remember to continue the story tomorrow😉

    Thanks,
    CB

    • Chris,
      thank you. I will continue the story. Maybe I will write a children’s book with bedtime stories.🙂

      in’Lakesh, Michi

  2. Michi, This is an excellent post. I learned so much from it. I realize I need to focus on more ‘moments’ in my life. I feel sure there will be many ‘in-the-Zone’ memories that I have forgotten. I love your thought on ‘Flow, however is a state of operation in which a person in an activity is fully immersed in a feeling of energized focus and full involvement.’ This is a much better state than enthusiasm. Maybe I was over-enthusiastic with #Trust30, but I felt inspired also. I am a little confused on this topic!
    However, YOUR SOUL is over ‘flow’ with beauty and wisdom. Thank you for sharing it with me.

    Peace, Nico

    • Nico, thank you. I know what you mean about confusion. I have felt so much confusion the last years, so when this topic came up, I felt enthusiasm wasn’t my remedy for my heart.
      But I am ruling out enthusiasm. I feel flow.

      Bless and In’Lakesh,
      ps. thank you so much for checking in on me.

      Michi

  3. Great post!
    I struggled with the words “enthusiasm and being totally excited” also … and I still haven’t written anything for this prompt.

    Since almost dying, I tend to live my life with purpose and awareness, so I don’t feel the need to make myself be excited or enthused … so this line your wrote totally resonated with me … “I’d rather be inspired and inspirational than over excited.”

    I love that you went for a walk by the sea instead of forcing yourself to write … and then you came back and wrote this. That’s living life fully alive and in the moment.

    • Janet, thank you and I look forward to read your take on enthusiasm. Your history has really inspired me to choose to look on my life as dynamic and sometimes challenging but always purposeful. What I have to do is to show up in it and be aware of my life.

      Thank you thank you, you are leading without a title.
      /Michi

  4. Flo McAfee said:

    You have it. You have the freedom to define it in your terms. And you did. It’s flow for you. It’s passion for me. It’s defined as enthusiasm to others. When we truly let go and are free and depend on self-reliance, we can define what excitement, enthusiasm, flow, inspiration, the zone,or passion as we choose. It’s really about having the feeling. You have it. No need to worry.

    • Flo, thank you. I have it. You have it. I find it so inspiring to read others’ take on each prompt. It’s great.

      In’Lakesh, Michi

  5. Dear Michi: Personally, I don’t think that you put any effeort at all into this… and I mean that as a tremendous compliment. Before you pitched your self-stated “clever” attempt to do this post, THEN you were in the state of effort.

    You chose grace. You chose flow. How wonderful!

    And it shows. My, how it shows. This is so sensitive, so sensual, so intimate that it to me, it is hypnotic.

    And I feel that you almost certainly enjoyed the creative process, in the flow. Absolutely love it, my dear.

    Namaste.
    Rich

    • Rich –
      thank you so much. It means so much to me to have these connections. The RWE project has released the writer in me. And as you say, it when I try to be ‘clever’ the effort becomes stale and forced. And my genius, my little invisible muse, grabbed hold of me and I just let the words run through me.

      Thank you for reading, you are so active in many of the contributors’ blogs, so from my heart thank you for that.

      In’Lakesh, Michi

Leave a Reply

