invent the future

The challenge of Day 17, by Cindy Gallop: My favorite quote of all time is Alan Kay: ‘In order to predict the future, you have to invent it.’ [I am all about inventing the future. Decide what you want the future to be and make it happen. Because you can. Write about your future now.]

ENLIGHTENMENT

The Master was an advocate both of Learning and of Wisdom. “Learning”, he said when asked, “is gotten by reading books or listening to lectures”.

“And Wisdom”?

“By reading the book that is You”.

He added as an afterthought: “Not an easy task at all, for every minute of the day brings a new edition of the book.

The story is written by Anthony de Mello and is an accurate description of how I find myself since my blackout; re-publishing the book of Me each day; and I will continue to do that for as long as I live. 

Comments on: "invent the future" (10)

  1. Process = When?… Now… Now?… Now… Right now?… Yes, right now…

    Everlasting, eternal creation / recreation (the “play” of the universe.)

    I appreciate in always deepening ways the true gift and necessity that meditation is.

    Thanks for sharing this personal meditation, dear Michi.

    Rich

    • Rich, thank YOU!
      If it wasn’t for the most encouraging comments it would have been much harder to continue. This RWE challenge has brought the necessity of connection into light.
      So yes, the play of universe is everlasting.

      In’Lakesh

  2. Flo McAfee said:

    I like that: “re-publishing the book of Me each day.” That is enlightenment; that’s what it’s truly about.

  3. Wow…great post. I am reading a book by him called “Awareness: The Perils of Opportunities of Reality”. I really like it. It is a very wonderful idea to “re-publish the book of me each day”. Very inspiring thought! Thank you.
    Peace, Nico

  4. Here’s to a book that is bright, beautiful and fulfilling page by page by page.

    • Ahh, Rich, thank you.
      I must confess many days it seems the pages are blank!🙂
      Maybe that is called “writers-block-in-life”
      🙂

  5. As a writer the image of our lives being a book has struck a cord in me. Now I will look at the blank page of each day and think/imagine/choose what will be written on it.

    “Me” by Janet Oberholtzer … has a nice ring to it🙂

Leave a Reply

