come alive

The challenge of Day 6, by Jonathan Mead: [If you had one week left to live, would you still be doing what you’re doing now? Resolve to only do what makes you come alive. How can your goals improve the present and not keep you in a perpetual “always something better” spiral?]

A great writer (Mark Twain) said a great thing once, which I’ve taken to heart. It’s a little something to live by, to have as a guiding star, to remember when life is hard to live, to keep as a promise to myself, to use as a painter uses his brushes to express the essence of life. So my dear friends who read this; if I only have one week, one hour or three hundred years left… when it comes down to it, it doesn’t matter really how long time I’ve got. I want to:

“Dance like nobody’s watching. Love like I’ve never been hurt. Sing like nobody’s listening. Live like it’s heaven on earth.”

Being a caterpillar inside of a cocoon, waiting to become a butterfly, the best way for me to improve my present moment, is to stop force the direction of change itself. Sometimes the greatest work I do is not visible to others. Some things are just meant for me. But when I emerge again from solitude, hopefully there is someone to witness that I have changed, that alchemical process of transformation that I have gone through. But if not, I am still changed, I am still beautiful. So dance little sisters, dance. Sing little brothers, sing. Live like it’s heaven on earth.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Looking at the images I remember that I can be foolishly playful at times. 

Comments on: "come alive" (6)

  1. You are one of the most beautiful women on this planet. xoxo

  2. Thank you for your comment on my blog…I posted a reply.

    This is a wonderful post. And you know what, it is nice when other people notice the ‘change’. But the MOST IMPORTANT thing is that you notice, acknowledge, and OWN it…love the pics.

    Peace, Nico

  3. Sometimes it’s enough that you are there to witness your own journey and transformation. It’s a rare friendship, a rare intimacy where the people actually see each other without interference. Love the pictures, too Michi and I love this new project!

    • Andrew, oh thank you for stopping by. It means very much to me that you did.

      It’s true that it’s important to notice one’s own transformation. And I think I have been fortunate to be witnessed, without interference or a pressure to change the process, by my boyfriend. I treasure it as a rare gift. Everything is under the constant force of change. Sometimes it’s quick, sometimes it’s a very slow process, but it is change. Are you participating in the project, besides your poetry site? Love, M

Leave a Reply

