one strong belief

The challenge of Day 3, by Bruce Benson: What’s the one strong belief you possess that isn’t shared by your closest friends or family? What inspires this belief, and what have you done to actively live it?


Why does the eye see more clearly in dreams than the imagination when awake? – Da Vinci

I am a seeker. I don’t’ necessarily have to find answers. Because what is the right answers? The universal ones of course, but I can’t perceive them unless I understand, and with understanding usually comes surrender. So it’s rather that I seek questions. The ever-present word ”why” is what drives my curiosity and desire to explore. I have a deeply rooted longing to understand; my unfolding self, other people, the earth, the humanity I am part of and the complexity of constant creation and evolution in Universe. And in my pursuit I have come to understand and soulfully know that most of what I think I see and experience are my own personal perceptions, not always compatible with others.

There is more to life, universe and humanity than meets the eye. There is more to you and me than we know. Just two weeks ago I didn’t know or imagine that I would/could take part in #Trust30. For years, I have had a hidden, unexpressed and well-kept dream to be a writing storyteller. I didn’t think I had that in me. I didn’t trust myself enough to believe I had something of significance to share. But I talk to people, mostly by telling them stories, taking them into the realm of the unseen, misunderstood but much felt world of soul. It’s so second nature that I don’t notice it. I had to learn to look at myself through the eyes of soul, before I did.

The process where I started to look at myself through different set of eyes is referred to as The Dark Night of the Soul. My experience of it, which is still going on, I haven’t deliberately sought out. But I have to actively live in it and be present to it, whether I like it or not. This night wasn’t activated by my will or my innate curiosity. I didn’t want to find this darkness. It found me. But, in all fairness, it is in this night, in this darkness I have begun to experience the brightest of light that resides in me; that I am powerful, that All is One and that One is All. I am both separate from and part of the whole. I AM. And so are you.

In 2010 I wrote a story about an incident that clarified and deepened my conviction that what we see is not the whole truth.She’s nothin’ but a hooker…Click the link and read more about perceived “truths”.


Comments on: "one strong belief" (5)

  1. jomgram said:

    Thanks for your company through the dark night of the soul!

    • Michi said:

      To say “you’re welcome” might seem too light of a appreciation in terms of Dark Night of the Soul. But I say YOU ARE WELCOME anyway, in a context of that I see you and find it heartwarming to know that someone sees me too in this very challenging but special place we find us in.

  2. The Dark Night of the Soul is a calling to something greater than you. I read St. John of the Cross and that idea struck me as well. I can’t say I envy you being there, but from what I understand, the other side is marvelous. You’ll be better for it.

  3. Michi said:

    Chinwuba,
    I think so too, even if it is very hard sometimes to have faith in that at all. There have been times when I wished I could die, so I could live. Let me just say, I am not suicidal. Not at all. It’s just that there is a longing, a yearning within me that is very hard to express or to understand. It’s as if my “old” self is about to die and the”new” self hasn’t emerged yet so to say. Very confusing. But I am at a point where I can accept that this is where I am.

  4. Michi, this is a great post. I totally understand ‘the dark night of the soul’. I look forward to reading more of your blog! Take care. PEACE!

Leave a Reply

