15 minutes to live

The challenge of Day 1, by Gwen Bell: [You just discovered you have fifteen minutes to live. Set the timer for fifteen minutes. Write the story that has to be written] 

Life. Extraordinary. Lonely. Isolated. Shut in. Dying. Transform. Change. 

I am dying and I know there’s nothing I can do about it. Ever since I shut myself in, I have always known that I wouldn’t come out of this alive. Today is the day I will leave. Today I will die. I can feel it. Soon. The wind is gently rocking my home as an encouragement to leave. I can’t look outside though, I have no windows, but that doesn’t matter. I feel different today. I have spent so much time inside I have forgotten how it is out there. Could I have a few more days or a few more hours? No, I feel death entering my body. Soon there will be no more I. Distance. I feel distant from myself as I am preparing to enter something new. I have no knowledge of what to expect. Soon I will know.

Anxiety. Silence. Knowledge. Death. Alter. Stretch out. Break out. Love.

There. It’s done. I died. Yet I live. I left my cocoon and transformed into a butterfly. So we never really die, do we? We are a constant creation of change, from one form into another. Fly high, my friends and never be afraid of who you are and can become. 

“How does one become a butterfly?” she asked pensively. You must want to fly so much that you are willing to give up being a caterpillar.” – Trina Paulus

Leave a Reply

