image

The bonus? challenge Day 31, by Matthew Stillman: [Mess up your hair. If you are wearing makeup – smudge it. If you have a pair of pants that don’t really fit you – put them on. Put on a top that doesn’t go with those pants. Go to your sock drawer. Pull out two socks that don’t match. Different lengths, materials, colours, elasticity […] Take a picture. Get ready to post it online. Are you feeling dread? Excitement? Is this not the image you have of yourself? Write about the fear or the thrill that this raises in you? Who do you need to look good for and what story does it tell about you? Or why don’t you care?]

Ministry of Self Reliance

Seriously, is this woman really an aspiring writer?! @2010 T. Jorgensen

All of us misunderstand and are misunderstood. If not by others, so help me God, by our selves. We don’t have to be geniuses to be and do that. Take this prompt for example; Trust30 says 30 days of writing, so yesterday was a closure for those of us that had reached challenge 30. We said our goodbyes and complimented each other for having ‘hung in there’ and some felt, as yours truly, exhilarated to have started to see them selves as a writer prospect.

This morning I stretched out in my bed with a fantastic image of myself. “Goddamn, I feel good about myself. I had actually done it; I wrote for 30 days in a row and enjoyed every bit of it. I got out of bed, had breakfast, and started to write about my next post, which was a sort of answer to a comment I got on one of my posts. I wrote and I wrote and then I felt the urge to see what the Ralph Waldo Emerson site said about the project.

What? Another prompt?” What can I tell you, I felt stupid (Don’t I know how to count?!), then a bit annoyed (don’t THEY know how to count?!) and then rebellious (nope, I am NOT going to write about this!) and then rather entertained (Is this The Domino Project’s way to let us know that they are great and so are we, because we misunderstood?) Don’t know and frankly don’t care that much either, I am in a writing spree, so shoot, “Let’s write!” I feel very self-reliant while I write this. :)

Take a picture?!” Well, my self-image is VERY differentiated, it depends on what mood I’m in: goofy / funky / ugly / sexy / totally undesirable / beautiful / tall / short / fat / thin / funny / boring / intelligent / stupid / young / old / all / nothing / alien / human… I wouldn’t know where to begin. I have no trouble to look silly, be silly, act silly, talk silly and even walk silly, if I am in the mood. Life is too short to not have fun, as they say. True, but sometimes we aren’t able to play. As I’ve written before, my dark night of the soul is no fun or silly. But just for today, let’s seriously play! I will walk sillier, talk sillier, and look sillier so I can embrace the freedom of being capable to laugh at my self and others, not to humiliate or be humiliated but just to acknowledge I AM what I AM. So what if I am misunderstood or misunderstand?! I feel alive and it’s been a long time coming! In’Lakesh and let the fun begin!

Is it so bad, then, to be misunderstood? Pythagoras was misunderstood, and Socrates, and Jesus, and Luther, and Copernicus, and Galileo, and Newton, and every pure and wise spirit that ever took flesh. To be great is to be misunderstood. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Comments on: "image" (16)

  1. Yay Michi! Nice post and picture. I am clapping my feet together in ass-backwards applause (in the spirit of today’s bonus prompt.)

    I feel like “they’re keep the band together, man!” Celebrate!

    Namaste.
    Rich

    • Yes, I don’t know if the video clip is viewable. It says watch it on youtube. But I love Monty Python and I also felt like clapping in ass-backwards applause!

      Thanks Rich, I’m celebrating! :)

  2. Nice! You actually posted a pic. :) That is great. This project has also stirred something in me. I checked in for similar reasons. I was prepared to go to day one and play the 7 day catch. Then surprise. On writing every day, it has sort of felt like the author in me is real and relevant. It has felt good. Real good. Like you post.

    • Hi Ibotenicus,
      thanks for comment. Yes, to feel that I actually write and can write has been the real treasure and gift for me participating in this project.

      Fly high and keep your musings flowing! :)

  3. I LOVE this Michi!!!! I love being silly too, will have to document a silly moment this wknd. I love your writing and your attitude of life. I stopped the prompts due to schoolwork :(
    Hope to keep reading more inspiration from you !

    • Hey Talyn!
      I wondered where you ‘went’! Thanks for dropping by.
      Well, sometimes life’s calling for attention elsewhere.
      Let’s keep in touch and inspire us now and then! :)

      In’Lakesh and good luck with schoolwork

  4. Flo McAfee said:

    I think this prompt reminds of The Domino Project’s point—poke the box. It does not have to be done as is always expected.

    Flo

    • Flo –
      very true – poke the box! I know my box’s been poked!

      I think that when we go back and read our posts, we definitely will
      take comfort in that we followed through and be proud of who we are and
      what we have shared.

      In’Lakesh, Michi

  5. Oh Michi, I’m so glad you decided to participate. I love to see you finish this up in a playful tone. I love it!

    • Hi Rich!
      Thanks so much inspirational friend!

      As the challenge continues…let’s keep the flow moving!

      In’Lakesh :)

  6. Hey Michi – it’s great to reconnect with you! I love your post and picture – and I agree about silliness compared with dark night – both are part of the journey. Some of the prompts reminded me of Rilke’s poems about beauty and terror – so many prompts were about facing our fears and I think maybe the hardest thing is to see our own beauty – we cover it up with fears – so silliness may be a good way to get through them. I cherish a picture of my Mom when she was a clown. I look at that picture and feel her reminding me – it’s okay to be silly – sometimes it’s necessary! Love to you and In’Lajesh!

    • Hi Mary,
      nice to hear from you. It’s been a long time since CMED. I do hope you are well.
      What a lovely way to remind yourself of the necessity to laugh sometimes. Was your mother a professional Clown?

      I will make time to read your blog. It has been (and still is) a great adventure :)
      In’Lakesh

  7. Write On! Michi love your rant and rave all caught in one. Just exactly life is and how we feel about ourselves right? Long time ago a woman told me to do the following exercise: Look into the mirror, look yourself in the eye and say: “I love you. I love you the way you are. You are beautiful.” She warned me I would feel silly, but that I ought to give it a try. I did. I also did feel silly, but I continued repeating that mantra. What happened was interesting. I started to see myself with different eyes. Write On! Judith

    • Thanks Judith,
      I got that advice or it was more of a gentle TLC from a friend when I was on my knees early in the Dark Night.
      Yes, it felt silly at first, but as you say, slowly and surely I began to see myself in a more compassionate way.

      Thank you so much for your comment.

      In’Lakesh

  8. I love your free spirit…it just keeps flowing, touching us all! This was wonderful. So glad you will continue on! I just decided to ‘go with the flow’. This challenge has done so much for me, why would I want to quit now!!?? Take care, MICHI, my friend!

    Peace, Nico

    • Nico, thank you!

      I will do my best to nurture that spirit, which isn’t the always the easiest thing to do.
      But I have received so much from this challenge, writing esteem and new friends that
      display such talent, compassion and care.

      Let’s keep in touch!
      In’Lakesh

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

