overcoming uncertainty

The challenge of Day 29, by Sean Ogle: [Write down a major life goal you have yet to achieve or even begin to take action on. For each goal, write down three uncertainties (read: fears) you have relating to each goal. Break it down further, and write down three reasons for each uncertainty. When you have three reasons for your fear, you’ll be able to start processing the change because you know where the fear stems from. Now you’ll be able to make smaller changes that push you towards your larger goal. So begins the process of “trusting yourself.”]

© Adam Hughes "Snowbunny Padme and Yoda"

I read a quote somewhere (I forgot who it was, sorry!); ”Fear is just growth coming to get you”, and what I add to that quote is that fear is part of our intuitive system which resides in our right brain and should be listen to. Note, I said listen to, not ruled or governed by fear. To succumb to fear can be very paralysing, but perceived as a guide it’s a great teacher, if we dare to listen. Most of our experiences are about personal growth. I have found myself in absolutely fearful situations where fear is an adequate reaction, but mostly my fear portrays my resistance against change.

It’s not personal Mr Ogle, but I won’t jot down one major goal and attach 3 ‘fears’ and 3 ‘reasons’ for each fear to overcome whatever uncertainty I perceive. That’s enough of that in this #Trust30 challenge. Dark Night of my Soul will absolutely suffice in that respect. It’s not a major goal per se, but the profound knowledge and insights that comes with it is. Dark Night is all about confusion and uncertainty and one shouldn’t take it lightly, not at all. Anyone who experienced it knows what I talk about. I lived and breathed uncertainty, confusion and fear as almost palpable, and oh so insisting, friends in that type of darkness. I wanted to ‘die’, so I could live. It’s awful and is all-consuming and during this Ralph Waldo Emerson challenge I see that I have come a long way towards a new dawn. It’s a process and I think I’ll write a book instead or create a seminar, as a fellow writer suggested.

But what I will do, when uncertain and fearful, is to read my post ‘Alive-est’ again and again and say:   Getting wiser in my life I will

Nothing can bring you peace but yourself. Nothing can bring you peace but the triumph of principles. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Comments on: "overcoming uncertainty" (9)

  1. Michi, totally different perspective of fear than my post, but I do see from where you are coming. Fear can protect us…’flight or fight’ response, when we need to listen to it. But, to me fear is the cause of so many negative emotions and viewpoints. Does this make sense to you? I am interested in your reply!
    Great Post and do write your book!!

    Peace, Nico

    • Nico, as I said on FB, I will give you answer to your comment. I will reflect little more on my answer to you. This is a very interesting subject and can be very inspirational!

      Thank you for your insights, interest and encouragement.

      In’Lakesh

  2. Mahina said:

    Intressanta tankar om rädsla och vad det innebär. Kom och tänkta på hur extansialismen ser på ångest som en drivkraft så länge den inte rar över och paralyserar (extensiellt vakum).

    Blir rörd av att läsa det du skriver och jag önskar att du snart är där, vid “new dawn”.

    Och syster, jag vill gärna läsa/höra din kommande bok/seminarium!
    Kram

  3. I not only applaud your choice but the way that you support it in strength with these words.

    That is a very good thing!

    Namaste.
    Rich

    • Rich, as always you provide encouragement and light to go on!

      I hope we keep contact, even after this challenge!

      Thank you :)

  4. Time to get away from the fears and move into the strength. Good call Michi.

  5. [...] write this because of a question and comment I got from a friend in my #Trust30 post about overcoming uncertainty. She wrote in her own post about how fear dictates many of our choices and is the cause to so much [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

